Monday, September 30, 2013

Buddhism 101

The Three Jewels

The Buddha, The Dharma, and The Sangha

Four Noble Truths

1. In life there is suffering
2. The root of suffering is attachment
3. Attachment can be rooted out
4. The Eightfold Path is the way to end attachment and suffering.

Eightfold Path

1. Right View-embracing Dharma
2. Right Resolve-aspiring to develop Right Intention
3. Right Speech-say what is true, necessary and nice
4. Right Action-abstain from wrong behavior
5. Right Livelihood-avoiding occupations that harm others
6. Right Effort-keeping positive mental attitude
7. Right Mindfulness-develop clear perception
8. Right Concentration-learn art of meditation

10 Precepts

1-5 for laity as well as monks and nuns/6-10 for monks and nuns

1. No Killing             6. No Inappropriate Eating
2. No Stealing           7. No Participating in/attending Singing, Dancing or Theater
3. No Unchastity       8. No Decorative Accessories
4. No Lying               9. No Luxurious Bedding or Furnishing
5. No Intoxicants      10 .No Possession of Silver or Gold